Loading Events

« All Events

35th Annual Community Arts Awards

September 1 @ 5:30 pm - September 30 @ 8:00 pm

Image of “Guardian of the Valley” by Mike Groves

The 35th Annual Awards Were in September 2022

Many thanks to those who participated in 2022!

One of the most heartwarming annual events sponsored by the Doña Ana Arts Council is the 35-year tradition of honoring individuals and organizations for their contributions to the arts with the Community Arts Awards ceremony.  The tradition continued in 2022.  Please watch for notices, probably starting early in 2023, for the 36th Awards, which will likely be held again in September of 2023.

The Doña Ana Arts Council works in partnership with community groups; local, state, and national governmental agencies; and other nonprofit arts organizations to engage a broad spectrum of our region in a wide range of the arts.  Doña Ana Arts Council is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization.

# # #



The Papen Family Award honors an individual who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to the arts through leadership, service and/or financial support.  The award, originally called the Mesilla Valley Treasure Award, and later, The Julie Papen Arts Patron Award, was renamed in 1997 to honor the late Senator Frank Papen and the Papen family, whose dedicated leadership, involvement, and support of the arts has so richly benefited our community.  The Award was given to Diane Lee in 2022.  A few of her predecessors include Dr. John Glowacki, State Representative J. Paul Taylor, Mayor Ruben Smith, Glenn and Sally Cutter, Heather Pollard, Denise Chavez, Mark Medoff, Irene Oliver Lewis, Bishop Ricardo Ramirez, Rosemary McLoughlin, and Nancy Ritchey.

Debi True Rounds Newcomer Award recognizes leadership and support of the arts by an individual who has lived in Doña Ana County for fewer than five years.  The 2022 recipient was Sonya Fe, and past recipients include S. Derrickson Moore, Lonnie Klein, Lucilene de Gues & Paco Antonio, Cynthia Garrett, Nan Rubin, Marisa Sage and Cruces Creatives.

The Arts In Education Award recognizes an individual whose leadership and pioneering spirit promote and shape visual, performing, and literary arts education initiatives.  The 2022 Award recipient was Wayne Huber.  Past Arts in Education Award recipients include Terry Alvarez, Leslie Kowalski, Constance Hasapopoulos Suter, Raul Dorn, Debra Knapp, Corina Gabaldon, Oscar Butler, Children’s Reading Foundation of Doña Ana County, Sally Quillin, Jan Archey, and Kathleen Key.

The Community Arts Award recognizes an individual or business whose motivation, service and example have made a marked impact on the cultural life of our community.  Florence Henderson was the recipient in 2022.  Former recipients of this award are Bob Burns, Bob Diven, Dr. Jerry Ann Alt, Ceil & Peter Herman, The Border Book Festival/The Cultural Center of Mesilla, Roy van der Aa & Robin Baxa, Larry Chandler, Jaki & David McCollum, Mike Groves, The Potter’s Guild, Doug Roby, GFWC Progress Club of Las Cruces, Olin Calk, St. Clair Winery, Flo Hosa Dougherty, and Dennis Lujan.

The Art in Public Places Award recognizes an individual who has created or placed art on permanent public view within Doña Ana County that exemplifies the highest standards and commitment to art in public places.  The Award went to the Las Cruces City Art Board in 2022.  Recipients of this award in the past include the City of Las Cruces and the NM Department of Transportation & Highways, Zandra Santanova, Glenn Schwaiger, Las Esperanzas, The Honorable Judge Robert C. Brack, Kelley S. Hestir, Joyce Macrorie,  Jess Williams, Rebecca Courtney, and Saba.

Excellence in Public Service to the Arts Award recognizes outstanding contributions by an individual or government organization for their contribution in the arts. This award is open to individuals or federal, state and local government agencies.  Recipients include Will Ticknor, Miguel Silva, Ammu Devasthali, Loie Fecteau, Andy Hume, Greg Smith, Jeff Steinborn, and Erlinda Portillo.

Cultural Heritage and Development Award recognizes an individual, group or organization that has preserved and promoted the culture and heritage of the Mesilla Valley through artistic and creative endeavors. The 2022 recipient of this Award was Ariana Parsons.  This was a new category in 2021 when David Chavez received the Award.

The John Glowacki Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2009 in honor of Dr. John Glowacki, founder of the Doña Ana Arts Council and longtime Head of Fine Arts at New Mexico State University.  This award is not given annually but only when an individual’s lifetime achievements need to be recognized for major, significant contributions to the arts.  Since its creation, the award has been presented only four times: to New Mexico Senator Mary Kay Papen in 2009, to Dr. Tom Gale in 2011 (posthumously), to Glenn and Sally Cutter in 2013,  and most recently, to J Paul Taylor, in 2014.

For more information, please call or email the Doña Ana Arts Council (575-523-6403 or admin@daarts.org). or visit the website at  www.daarts.org.




September 1 @ 5:30 pm
September 30 @ 8:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , , ,
Event Tags:


Las Cruces, NM
Las Cruces,